Tags

, ,

20120816-085051.jpg

I often snap photos as I’m headed eastbound on MARTA from Dome/GWCC/Philips Arena/CNN Center (work) to Edgewood/Candler Park (home). The Fulton Cotton Mill Lofts are a favorite subject to shoot. The Fulton Bag and Cotton Mill was in operation for almost 100 years, closing in 1977. I always heard about the surrounding mill town, called Cabbagetown, when I was growing up. The residents were Appalachian. It was a small town in the inner city.

Once the mill closed, the neighborhood went into decline. People started renovating houses there in the 90s and the mill was turned into lofts in the late 90s. It wasn’t until recently when I saw this video that I realized how depressing it might be to live in the shadow of a huge boarded up building.

Cabbagetown graffiti, 1991 from Terminus Films on Vimeo.